Myanmar (myan-mar i/miɑːnˈmɑr/ mee-ahn-mar,[6] /miˈɛnmɑr/ mee-en-mar or /maɪˈænmɑr/ my-an-mar (also with the stress on first syllable); Burmese pronunciation: [mjəmà]), officially the Republic of the Union of Myanmar and also known as Burma /ˈbɜrmə/ bur-mə, is a sovereign state in Southeast Asia bordered by BangladeshIndiaChinaLaos and Thailand. One-third of Myanmar's total perimeter of 1,930 km (1,200 miles) forms an uninterrupted coastline along the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. The country's2014 census revealed a much lower population than expected, with 51 million people recorded. Myanmar is 676,578 square kilometres (261,227 sq mi) in size. Its capital city is Naypyidaw and its largest city is Yangon(Rangoon).

Laos i/ˈlaʊs//ˈlɑː.ɒs//ˈlɑː.oʊs/, or /ˈleɪ.ɒs/)  Laoສາທາລະນະລັດ ປະຊາທິປະໄຕ ປະຊາຊົນລາວpronounced [sǎːtʰáːlanalat pásáːtʰipátàj pásáːsón láːw] Sathalanalat Paxathipatai Paxaxon Lao), officially the Lao People's Democratic Republic (LPDR) (FrenchRépublique démocratique populaire lao), is a landlocked country in Southeast Asia, bordered by Burma and the People's Republic of China to the northwest, Vietnam to the east, Cambodia to the south, and Thailand to the west. Since 1975, it has been ruled by a Marxist and communist government. Its population was estimated to be around 6.8 million in July 2014.