The 1986 Provisional Constitution, popularly known as the Freedom Constitution, promulgated by President Corazon C. Aquino on March 25, 1986, was a provisional constitution after a successful People Power Revolution. Under the Freedom Constitution, executive and legislative powers are exercised by the President, and shall continue to exercise legislative powers until a legislature is elected and convened under a new Constitution. Furthermore, the President is mandated to convene a Constitutional Commission tasked to draft a new charter.

This Freedom Constitution adopts the provisions of Articles I, III, IV, V and VI covering National Territory, Citizenship, Bill of Rights, Duties and Obligations of Citizens and Suffrage of the 1973 Constitution as amended. Articles II, VII, X, XI, XII, XIII, XIV and XV are adopted in toto in so long as they are not inconsistent with the provisions of this proclamation. The provisions of the 1973 Constitution on the Batasang Pambansa (Art. VIII), the Prime Minister and the Cabinet (Art. IX), Amendments (Art. XVI), the Transitory Provisions (Art. XVII) and all amendments thereto are superseded.