Moreover, the elections of Sen. Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III as Senate President and Rep. Pantaleon "Bebot" Alvarez as Speaker of the House has brought about a formidable all-Mindanaoan triumvirate in the country's leadership.

President Duterte who is from Davao City, Senate President Pimentel from Cagayan de Oro City, and House Speaker Alvarez from Davao del Norte are holding three of the four highest positions in the land today based on succession.

In addition, it's the first time that a child of a former Senate President has become Senate President as well. Sen. Koko Pimentel's father, former Sen. Aquilino "Nene" Pimentel Jr., served as Senate President in 2000-2001. All living former Philippine Presidents, except Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III, were present, namely: Fidel V. Ramos, special Philippine envoy to China; Manila Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada; and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. President Duterte must have been fortunate to have the most number of former Presidents to grace his first SONA.

Internationally-acclaimed filmmaker Brillante Mendoza directed the momentous event. Mindanao-based folk singer Bayang Barrios sang the National Anthem.

The powerful SONA, which was estimated to last for 38 minutes, went over an hour and 32 minutes overtime as a number of important national issues and legislative proposals were tackled by the President. Reports said that it was the longest first SONA in history.